Marc Marquez Wins BMW M6 Coupe

Marc Marquez Wins BMW M6 Coupe 4 photos
Photo: BMW
Marc Marquez Wins BMW M6 CoupeMarc Marquez Wins BMW M6 CoupeMarc Marquez Wins BMW M6 Coupe
Marc Marquez made it into the history books with his awesome performance of becoming the youngest MotoGP World Champion ever, but his win also comes with multiple other prizes, of which one is the BMW M Award.
A prize aimed to inspire riders do their best in all stages of the season, the BMW M Award is offered to the riders with the best positions in qualifying. They score points in the same manner as when racing: the 1st position in Qualifying earns them 25 points, the second 20, and so on.

This year, the BMW M Award went to the rookie extraordinaire, Marc Marquez, who earned 367 points thanks to his consistent qualifying sessions.

He was followed by Jorge Lorenzo with 311 points, a much bigger difference than the 4 points which stood between them in the world standing. Cal Crutchlow was the third, with 265 points, with Pedrosa and Rossi for top 5.

Marquez takes home a BMW M6 Coupé with an exclusive “Frozen Black Metallic” paintjob, with a 8-cylinder engine good for 560 hp and exclusive carbon fiber interior trimming.

Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner have earned the BMW M Award three times each.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories