F1 to Award Double Points for Season Finale, Introduce Cost Cap in 2015

Formula One 2013 1 photo
Photo: FIA
FIA will award double drivers’ and constructors’ points at the final race of each season starting with 2014 “in order to maximize focus on the Championship until the end of the campaign”, the association revealed earlier this week.
This means that the driver who wins the 2014 Abu Dhabi Grand Prix will be awarded 50 points, instead of the regular 25 points. All the other drivers that finish in the top 10 will be rewarded with double points as well. The rule will also apply to the manufacturers’ championship.

The already controversial “double points” rule, called “nonsense” by current F1 champion Sebastian Vettel, is not the only regulation change to come into force in 2014. Firstly, the drivers will be asked to choose a race number between 2 and 99 for the duration of their entire career, with number 1 to be reserved for the current World Champion.

Secondly, FIA will be introducing a five-second penalty for minor infringements which will be “discussed with Formula One’s teams in order that a new regulation be introduced” next year.

FIA also announced it has adopted the principle of a global cost cap, with a budget limit to be approved by June 2014 and applied from January 2015. More details are available in official press release below.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
Press Release
About the author: Ciprian Florea
Ciprian Florea profile photo

Ask Ciprian about cars and he'll reveal an obsession with classics and an annoyance with modern design cues. Read his articles and you'll understand why his ideal SUV is the 1969 Chevrolet K5 Blazer.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories