Women Motorcyclists to Be Honored at the AMA Banquet

Ladies with a passion for two-wheeled vehicles are invited to be present at the AMA Banquet in Vegas on December 4-5, where women motorcyclists with a great contribution to the industry will be honored. Moreover, participants will feast their eyes with some of the most beautiful bikes ever created at the 2009 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Concours d'Elegance.

Among the highlights of the event will be the 2009 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and the 2009 AMA Racing Championship Banquet. Champion of off-road riders’ rights Mona Ehnes will also be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Mona Ehnes first entered the fight for riders’ rights back in 1967, when the legislation had restricted off-highway vehicle riding opportunities in her home state Montana. Since then, Ehnes never abandoned her fight, being also a founding member of both the Great Falls Trail Bike Riders Association and the Montana Trail Vehicle Association

Several women racers are also set to be honored at the gala. Special awards include the AMA Racing Athlete of the Year, the AMA Racing Sportsman of the Year and AMA Racing Female Rider of the Year, won by land-speed racer Leslie Porterfield in 2008.

Some of the people invited to attend the event are Heather Byrd and Kayle Dyer in ATV motocross, Molly Carbon in hillclimb, Christy Williams in trials, Toni Roach and Elizabeth Allen in vintage racing, Shelbie Brittain in motocross, Paula Shank in ATV dirt-track, Kelly Hall in enduros, Claudia Danielewicz and Kacy Martinez in hare scrambles, and Jen Muecke in roadracing.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories