2010 Le Mans Series Calendar Announced

Organizers of the Le Mans Series announced over the weekend the official calendar for the 2010 season, a season which comes with five races and a few novelties. The 8-hour opening race will be held on the Castellet circuit, in between April 9 and 11. Le Mans Series also decided to keep the night race, first tried on the Portimao circuit, only this time it will take place twice, in Algarve and at Hungaroring.The full calendar is listed below:

  • 9-10-11 April - 8H of the Castellet –Paul Ricard Circuit
  • 7-8-9 May - 1000 Km of Spa-Francorchamps
  • 15-16-17 July - 1000 Km of Algarve (Night race)
  • 21-22 August - 1000 Km of Hungaroring (Night race)
  • 10-11-12 September - Autosport 1000 Km of Silverstone

As a novelty, the opening race of the season will not be done with the usual 1000 Km schema (or 6 hours), but will last 8 hours with a late morning start and an arrival at sunset around 7pm. The race will also mark the return of the Paul-Ricard circuit to the international racing world after being a test-only facility in the past years.

Algarve will host the second edition on Portuguese soil, while the season's second night race will be held at Hungaroring for the first time. The 1000 Km of Spa-Francorchamps and Silverstone will keep their current format, with the end season to be held in Silverstone, traditionally established as final race of the season.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
About the author: Daniel Patrascu
Daniel Patrascu profile photo

Daniel loves writing (or so he claims), and he uses this skill to offer readers a "behind the scenes" look at the automotive industry. He also enjoys talking about space exploration and robots, because in his view the only way forward for humanity is away from this planet, in metal bodies.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories