2023-11-27 Valentino Rossi Becomes an Honorary Member of the British Racing Drivers' Club - autoevolution

Valentino Rossi Becomes an Honorary Member of the British Racing Drivers' Club

MotoGP iconic rider and nine-time World Champion Valentino Rossi will become an honorary member of the British Racing Drivers' Club (BRDC). What makes this induction in the exclusive British club is the fact that Rossi is the first individual to be admitted solely for his achievements in the two-wheeled sport.
Former F1 World Champion Niki Lauda and Rossi, at Brno, 2015 1 photo
Photo: motogp.com
That's right, there are no riders in the British Racing Drivers' Club, and even as a driver, becoming a member is a very difficult task. The criteria are very selective and the BRDC only counts slightly north of 800 members.

An exclusive drivers' club founded by the "Bentley Boys"

The British Racing Drivers' Club's history can be tracked down back to the 1920's. Its founder, Dr. J. D. Benjafield, was one of the "famous Bentley Boys" at Le Mans. As Bentley dominated the road racing scene in that era, Benjafield thought about putting up an official structure to organise post-race dinner parties for the drivers and friends, and thus layed out the basis of the club.

Inaugurated in 1928 and having 25 members, the British Racing Drivers' Club took things further, organising racing events and eventually becoming the "guardian angel" of Britain's most iconic circuit, Silverstone.

Rossi will be presented with his membership ahead of the next MotoGP round, the British Grand Prix at Silverstone. BRDC President Derek Warwick will make the honors, but we can also expect the legendary John Surters, the British Racing Drivers' Club vice-president, and the only person to have won world championships in both car and motorcycle Grand Prix racing.

Among others, the British Racing Drivers' Club includes Fernando Alonso, Mario Andretti, Rubens Barrichello, Luca Di Montezemolo, Emerson Fittipaldi, Mika Hakkinen, Lewis Hamilton, The Right Hon Lord Hesketh PC KBE, Niki Lauda, Nigel Mansell CBE, Allan McNish, Daniel Ricciardo, Michael Schumacher, Mark Webber, and of course, John Surtees OBE.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories