Alonso Wins Singapore GP

In what may very well be considered one of the great battles of the Formula 1 season, the race in Singapore on Sunday night ended with Ferrari's Fernando Alonso securing his fourth win in 2010, after fending off Red Bull's Sebastian Vettel.

The difference between the two, which translates into important points for Alonso, was of only 0.293 seconds. It couldn't have been any other way, considering that for the duration of the race, their duel raged on.

"The championship remains very tight with five contenders. Obviously Mark has a margin, but we will do our best. I don't know if it will be enough, but will give 100 percent,"
Alonso said after the race.

The race was pretty much filled with events, with more than one incident turning into dramatic outcomes for those involved. Mark Webber and Lewis Hamilton went after one another with such intensity, that their fight concluded on lap 36 with quite a serious collision, one which forced Hamilton out of the race because of a broken suspension.

This is the second consecutive forfeit for Hamilton, an even bitter one considering that Webber, the points leader, managed to finish the race third.

There were in all eight drivers who abandoned the Singapore GP, including both HRT-Cosworth drivers and Jarno Trulli. Former F1 glory Michael Schumacher had another bad day and finished 13th, following a race adorned with incidents as well.

Below are the results of the Singapore night race:

1. Alonso             Ferrari
2. Vettel               Red Bull-Renault
3. Webber           Red Bull-Renault
4. Button             McLaren-Mercedes
5. Rosberg         Mercedes
6. Barrichello      Williams-Cosworth
7. Kubica            Renault
8. Sutil                 Force India-Mercedes
9. Hulkenberg    Williams-Cosworth
10. Massa           Ferrari
11. Petrov            Renault
12. Alguersuari   Toro Rosso-Ferrari
13. Schumacher Mercedes
14. Buemi             Toro Rosso-Ferrari
15. Di Grassi        Virgin-Cosworth
16. Kovalainen      Lotus-Cosworth

Update: After the race, the FIA stewards handed Adrian Sutil and Nico Hulkenberg a 20-second penalty for having gained from going around the outside of Turn 7 on Lap 1. That means they ended the Singapore GP in 9th and 10th places respectively, lifting Felipe Massa to 8th overall.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
About the author: Daniel Patrascu
Daniel Patrascu profile photo

Daniel loves writing (or so he claims), and he uses this skill to offer readers a "behind the scenes" look at the automotive industry. He also enjoys talking about space exploration and robots, because in his view the only way forward for humanity is away from this planet, in metal bodies.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories