Car video reviews:

MotoGP at Phillip Island for Ten More Years

Australian motorcycle racing fans can rest assured and raise a cold beer as they will be able to enjoy both MotoGP and World Superbike racing for at least the next decade. Dorna Sports, the rights holder to MotoGP and WSBK, reached an agreement with the Victoria State Government, and this bodes a bright future for road racing in Oz.
Rossi at Phillip Island in 2015 1 photo
The Phillip Island circuit has secured the presence of MotoGP until 2026, whereas the World Superbike Championship will also be present at this circuit in 2027. The two racing series have a strong impact on the local economy as they attract significant crowds, so it's easy to figure out why both parties got along so well.

In 2015, the 2015 Pramac Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix drew a crowd of around 85,000, while more than 42,000 were present at the Phillip Island circuit for the Superbikes races.

The estimated profits of motorsport events on the island, including Formula 1 (the Australian Grand Prix was secured until 2023), are of around $107 million. The state of Victoria obtained a $48.5 million benefit from the MotoGP event alone, while the World Superbike round brought an additional $20 million. The Labor Government also allocated extra funds to secure major sporting events in the future.

Michelin recently became the title sponsor for the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix, which is one of the last rounds in the MotoGP calendar, with the racing weekend this year scheduled for October 21-23.

The Phillip Island is a 4.4 km (2.76 mile) long circuit with seven left-hand corners and five right-handers, and a 900 m (21,953 ft) straight. A normal MotoGP race comprises 27 laps for a total distance of 120.1 km or 74.5 miles.

Casey Stoner claimed five poles and six wins at Phillip Island, but Valentino Rossi also has six victories to his name here. The circuit records are as follows:

Fastest lap: Jorge Lorenzo, 1'27.899, in 2013,
Circuit record: Marc Marquez,1'28.108, in 2013,
Best pole: Jorge Lorenzo,1'27.899, in 2013,
Top speed: Andrea Dovizioso, 348 km/h (216.3 mph) in 2015.


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories