FIM Announces MotoGP Lineup for 2009

Despite their financial problems that have led to quitting the world of Formula 1, Honda has confirmed their presence as a works' team inside the MotoGP next season. The announcement was made by the International Motorcycle Federation earlier today, as the FIM released the complete entry list for the 2009 MotoGP championship.

Honda HRC will therefore start a brand new campaign inside the MotoGP next year, with newcomer Andrea Dovizioso joining Dani Pedrosa for the team's 2-bike effort in 2009. Honda will also provide customer bikes for 2 more teams in the MotoGP roaster, San Carlo Gresini and Scot Racing.

Toni Elias will be returning to compete for his former Gresini team in 2009, joining San Marino's sophomore Alex de Angelis. Scot Racing, on the other hand, will start their second MotoGP campaign rookie-based, as Japanese rider Yuki Takahashi is set to replace Dovizioso at Gianluca Montiron's team.

Ducati will also begin next season with a new lineup, as former MotoGP champion will join Casey Stoner for 2009. Like Honda, the Italian manufacturer is to provide bikes for 2 other customer teams in the MotoGP, naming Pramac Racing and newcomers Grupo Francisco Hernando. The latter have already secured Sete Gibernau for their maiden MotoGP campaign.

Here's the complete roaster for the 2009 season of the MotoGP championship:

3     Dani Pedrosa                Repsol Honda (Honda)
4     Andrea Dovizioso          Repsol Honda (Honda)
5     Colin Edwards               Tech 3 Yamaha ( Yamaha)
7     Chris Vermeulen            Rizla Suzuki ( Suzuki)
14   Randy De Puniet           LCR Honda (Honda)
15   Alex De Angelis             San Carlo Gresini ( Honda)
21   John Hopkins                 Kawasaki Racing ( Kawasaki)
24   Toni Elias                        San Carlo Gresini ( Honda)
27   Casey Stoner                 Ducati Marlboro ( Ducati)
33   Marco Melandri              Kawasaki Racing (Kawasaki)
36   Mika Kallio                     Pramac Racing (Ducati)
46   Valentino Rossi              Fiat Yamaha (Yamaha)
52   James Toseland             Tech 3 Yamaha(Yamaha)
59   Sete Gibernau                Grupo Francisco Hernando (Ducati)
65   Loris Capirossi                Rizla Suzuki (Suzuki)
69   Nicky Hayden                  Ducati Marlboro (Ducati)
72   Yuki Takahashi                Scot Racing (Honda)
88   Niccolo Canepa               Pramac Racing (Ducati)
99   Jorge Lorenzo                 Fiat Yamaha (Yamaha)
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories