FIA Confirm Medal System in 2009

The International Automobile Federation have confirmed the changing of the point system for Formula 1 in 2009. Starting the very upcoming season, only the driver to score the most wins throughout the season will become world champion. The FIA has therefore rejected Formula One Teams' Association's proposal to only change the point-awarding for the podium finishers (12, 9, 7 respectively).

Furthermore, the current point system will remain unchanged. Should two or three drivers finish the series with the same number of wins, the title will not go to the one having scored the most runner-up places in the season, but based on his overall points. Also, the point system will continue to function when setting the championship positions from 2nd to last overall.

“The WMSC accepted the proposal from Formula One Management to award the drivers' championship to the driver who has won the most races during the season,” said a statement from the FIA earlier today.

“If two or more drivers finish the season with the same number of wins, the title will be awarded to the driver with the most points, the allocation of points being based on the current 10, 8, 6 etc. system. The rest of the standings, from second to last place, will be decided by the current points system. There is no provision to award medals for first, second or third place. The Constructors' Championship is unaffected.”

"The WMSC rejected the alternative proposal from the Formula One Teams' Association to change the points awarded to drivers finishing in first, second and third place to 12, 9 and 7 points respectively” added the statement.

It is believed that the decision – announced by the World Motor Sport Council – was the result of several surveys of audience within the F1 fans worldwide.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories