BMW Wants to Win Manufacturers' Title in the DTM on the Hockenheim

The inaugural season in the DTM for BMW’s M4 model was more than a success. With the new car, Marco Wittmann managed to secure his Champion title before the season was over. Furthermore, BMW Team RMG already won the teams’ competition as well.
Marco Wittmann on the Hockenheimring 1 photo
Photo: BMW
This weekend, the last stage of the 2014 season will take place on the Hockenheimring with only one title still on the table, the one that BMW really wants the most, destined for manufacturers. In these rankings, the Munich-based company is leading at the moment but anything can happen as Audi is just 18 points behind with 284 in total. Mercedes-Benz is no threat anymore, gathering just 121 points to its name so far.

Even though Marco already won the title, he claims the next race will be as intense as ever:

We have set our sights on scoring valuable points towards the Manufacturers’ Championship. It is still a very close affair, and is guaranteed to be exciting. I am really looking forward to the finale.”

The season finale in Hockenheim is obviously always very special. The atmosphere there is always enough to give you goosebumps. I can really enjoy it, as the pressure in the Drivers’ Championship is off. I claimed my first DTM win at this year’s opening race in Hockenheim, and it would obviously be a dream to finish on the top step of the podium at the finale,” the German driver added.

BMW wants the manufacturer's championship

Of course, we do understand his excitement to bring home the title for BMW as well along with the other two that he helped win so far. However, it will have to be a collective effort and most of the eight drivers the blue and white roundel company will have in the race will have to finish in the points (the top 10 positions).

The stats seem to be on BMW’s side, out of the last five races in the DTM held here, the company winning four. It was in 2012 when they made a comeback to the German touring car champions that Bruno Spengler won the first one of these four, while the most recent win was claimed by Marco, at the beginning of this year.

As usual, the qualifying rounds will take place on Saturday, October 18 while the race is scheduled for Sunday, October 19.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
press release

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories