BMW i8 1.5-liter 3-cylinder Plant Wins 2015 International Engine of the Year Award

BMW i8 1 photo
Photo: Catalin Garmacea
The 17th annual International Engine of the Year Awards winners were just announced and BMW’s B38 1.5-liter 3-cylinder engine from the i8 not only won the 2015 Engine of the Year award but two other categories as well.
Developed especially for the plug-in hybrid sports car, the small engine does offer incredible performance for its size. That was taken into consideration apparently by the deciding committee that voted for it on more than one occasion, turning the new-age mill into the best overall choice in the automotive industry at the moment.

Apart from being chosen as the engine of the year, the B38 also scored the most points in the 1.4 to 1.8-liter category (262 points) and the New Engine category (339 points), wins that helped it climb to the top spot overall.

In the Engine of the Year category, the i8’s beating heart gathered a grand total of 274 points, keeping the runner-up Ford 1-liter EcoBoost engine at bay with its 267 points and the PSA Peugeot Citroen 1.2-liter mill on third place with 222 points.

In order to win, different rules apply to different categories. For example, in order to win the award for the best new engine (which went to BMW) the 1.5-liter 3-cylinder plant had to have been launched after June 2014 and be housed in a passenger car that was on sale in more than one country as of June 2015.

The i8 wasn’t the only BMW with a winning engine in this year’s contest. The S55 3-liter inline 6-cylinder biturbo unit from the new M3 and M4 also won the award for the 2.5- to 3-liter category. The N55 unit from the M135i and M235i models finished on the second place in the same category.

The winners of the other categories are as follows:
  • under 1-liter award : Ford 999cc 3-cylinder turbo
  • 1-liter to 1.4-liter award: PSA Peugeot Citroen 1.2-litre three-cylinder turbo
  • 1.8-liter to 2-liter award: Mercedes-AMG 2-litre turbo (M133)
  • 2-liter to 2.5-liter award: Audi 2.5-litre five-cylinder turbo
  • 3-liter to 4-liter award: McLaren 3.8-litre twin-turbo V8
  • above 4-liter award: Ferrari 4.5-litre V8
  • green engine of the year award: Tesla full-electric powertrain
  • performance engine of the year: Ferrari 4.5-liter V8
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories