2010 FIA WTCC Entry List Announced

The FIA World Touring Car Championship today confirmed the official entry list for the 2010 season. Despite the bad news regarding some of the championship's leading manufacturers in recent months, it was now confirmed that both SEAT and BMW will continue their racing programmes in the championship.

Gabriele Tarquini, Tiago Monteiro, Jordi Gene and Tom Coronel will all run factory Seat Leon TDIs throughout the 2010 season of the FIA WTCC, running under the SR-Sport name, while BMW will provide factory support for only 2 cars, driven by 3-time champion Andy Priaulx and Augusto Farfus Jr.

We are proud that we managed to maintain a high quality field in this challenging economic environment. Most of our regular drivers and teams are still with us, which guarantees continuity in the growth of the championship's popularity,” said Marcello Lotti, General Manager of KSO.

We are grateful to BMW and Chevrolet who renewed their trust in the championship confirming their factory programmes. And we also thank SEAT because, although no longer competing with an official team, the brand made a big effort to guarantee a strong representation of customers teams that will be provided by SEAT Sport with the necessary technical support.

Despite the multitude of newly entries for the 2010 season, one bad news was that LADA decided to scrap their entire FIA WTCC programme for the new year, despite their promising performances last season.

We were surprised and disappointed, because in 2009 they undertook a commitment for a three-year programme. This is now a matter for the FIA to deal with,” added Lotti.

1 Gabriele Tarquini (SR Sport) - SEAT Leon TDi
2 Tom Coronel (SR Sport) - SEAT Leon TDi
3 Tiago Monteiro (SR Sport) - SEAT Leon TDi
4 Jordi Gene (SR Sport) - SEAT Leon TDi
5 Norbert Michelisz (Zengo-Dension) - SEAT Leon TDi
6 Yvan Muller (Chevrolet - RML) - Chevrolet Cruze
7 Rob Huff (Chevrolet - RML) - Chevrolet Cruze
8 Alain Menu (Chevrolet (RML) - Chevrolet Cruze
10 Augusto Farfus (BMW - RBM) - BMW 320si
11 Andy Priaulx (BMW - RBM) - BMW 320si
15 Franz Engstler (Team Engstler) - BMW 320si
16 Andrei Romanov (Team Engstler) - BMW 320si
17 Michel Nykjaer (SUNRED) - SEAT Leon TDi
19 Harry Vaulkhard (Bamboo) - Chevrolet Lacetti
20 Darryl O'Young (Bamboo) - Chevrolet Lacetti
21 Mehdi Bennani (Wiechers-Sport) - BMW 320si
23 Marin Colak (Colak Racing) - SEAT Leon
24 Kristian Poulsen (Poulsen Motorsport) - BMW 320si
25 Sergio Hernandez (Proteam Motorsport) - BMW 320si
26 Stefano D'Aste (Proteam Motorsport) -  BMW 320si
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories