Team Falken's McQuarrie Takes 3rd Place at Formula D Seattle

The Formula Drift is regarded as North America's professional drift competition. Already in its sixth season, the championship grew more and more in public interest and publicity.

The series is comprised of 7 stages and puts head to head some of the most skilled drivers that can manage high-powered cars and ultra performance tires in a mouth watering spectacle that fascinates all types of car enthusiasts.

Round 5 took place on a once designed horse-track in Seattle, the Evergreen Speedway, which posses one of the most difficult banking and tight transition the “Breaking point”. Tire manufacturer Falken takes a special interest in ultra performance tires and provides tires several teams implicated in this sport.

To the delight of the fans gathered at the Evergreen Speedway, Friday witnessed a tight competition with all of the drivers swaying their cars as impressive as they could. Falken supplied the tires for seven of the drivers who made the field. McQuarrie, Vaughn Gittin Jr., Darren McNamara, Daijiro Yoshihara, and Calvin Wan, plus privateers Ross Petty (who was in fact the number two qualifier) and Taka Aono all ran on Falken Azenis RT615 performance tires.

McQuarrie and Gittin advanced to the Top 4, but the first lost to Forsberg, who would take the event win while the second Falken driver was involved in a collision during his run that prevented him from advancing to the final.

This result moved McQuarrie to third position in the Championship while Team Falken teammate Vaughn Gittin Jr. dropped fifth overall in the championship. The next event is held in two weeks time at Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, Northern California, August 21-22.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories