Pedrosa Tops First Practice at Sachsenring

Honda's Dani Pedrosa managed to emerge on the top of the MotoGP field after the first practice session of the German Grand Prix, at the Sachsenring. However, this is probably of little interest to most people, as everyone is looking forward to finding out how Valentino Rossi did at his return to MotoGP action after more than 6 weeks of inactivity.

Well, The Doctor had to settle for the 7th best time of the afternoon in Germany, although the time difference between him and 4th placed Ben Spies has been almost half of tenth of a second.

All the championship big guns spent some time on top of the timing reports, but in the end it was Pedrosa who scored the pace setting lap time, 1:22.521. The Spaniard was followed by the man who'll probably take his place at Honda next season, Ducati's Casey Stoner, while his teammate Nicky Hayden was 3rd overall.

The trio finished within half of second from each other, and were followed by a group of 6 riders positioned within one tenth of a second. Yamaha's first rider in the timing sheets was not championship leader Jorge Lorenzo but his potential 2011 teammate Ben Spies (Tech 3 Yamaha), who was followed by Gresini Honda's Marco Simoncelli.

Lorenzo ended the day with the 6th best time, only two hundredths of a second ahead of Rossi. LCR Honda's Randy de Puniet finished 8th overall, while followed by Gresini Honda's second rider Marco Melandri and Honda's works rider Andrea Dovizioso.

The first 13 riders in the timing reports all finished within one second, which could set the stage for an exciting weekend ahead. The entire MotoGP pack was compressed within one and a half second.

01. Dani Pedrosa (Honda)                                  1:22.521
02. Casey Stoner (Ducati)                                   1:22.795
03. Nicky Hayden (Ducati)                                   1:22.983
04. Ben Spies (Tech 3 Yamaha)                          1:23.189
05. Marco Simoncelli (Gresini Honda)                 1:23.204
06. Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha)                               1:23.224
07. Valentino Rossi (Yamaha)                             1:23.244
08. Randy de Puniet (LCR Honda)                      1:23.260
09. Marco Melandri (Gresini Honda)                    1:23.290
10. Andrea Dovizioso (Honda)                             1:23.400
11. Mika Kallio Pramac (Ducati)                           1:23.422
12. Aleix Espargaro (Pramac Ducati)                   1:23.430
13. Colin Edwards (Tech 3 Yamaha)                    1:23.440
14. Loris Capirossi (Suzuki)                                  1:23.589
15. Hector Barbera (Aspar Ducati)                        1:23.599
16. Alvaro Bautista (Suzuki)                                  1:24.020
17. Alex de Angelis (Interwetten Honda)               1:24.101
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories