Michael Dunlop Wins the Senior TT, Brother William Involved in a Crash

Michael Dunlop at the 2014 IOM TT 4 photos
The Mountain Course in the Isle of Man2014 Senior TT resultsMichael Dunlop
Michael Dunlop has won the Pokerstars Senior TT race in the Isle of Man 2014, adding one more victory to his name in the most spectacular outing of this year’s event. We are still waiting for the official time sheets, but we can tell you that he was accompanied on the podium by Manx rider Conor Cummins, while Lincolnshire’s Guy Martin was the third-fastest rider of the day.
The elder of the Dunlop brothers also set a new lap speed record for the Senior TT, clocking 131.668 mph (211.853 km/h), finally breaking John McGuinness’ 131.578 mph (211.709 km/h) which stood since 2009. Other three big names followed after the podium positions: New Zealand’s Bruce Anstey, who seems to be still holding his outright speed record from last Sunday (132.298 mph or 221.867 km/h), Kawasaki’s main weapon James Hillier and the Morecambe Missile, John McGuinness sixth.

Michael’s younger brother William unfortunately came off his bike at Graham’s and was airlifted to the Noble’s Hospital. As Michael says at the press conference, his brother was conscious and is suspected to have broken a leg in the crash. You can watch the post-race press conference below. If you haven’t heard Guy Martin speaking until now you’re most likely going to be shocked. He did not attend the conference from the beginning, but makes an awesome entry, moments before the press event reaches an end, and you’ll definitely have a lot of fun trying to figure out what he is saying.

We will be back with photos and footage as the official website surfaces more news. Until then, we’re in for quite a big celebration at the BMW headquarters, as Michael Dunlop brings 4 wins this week and restores road racing glory for the Bavarian manufacturer. Even though BMW officials most likely dreamed of at least one victory on the Mountain Course, it’s hard to tell that they ever dared to see their S1000RR rider taking 4 back-to-back wins this year and up for another Joey Dunlop Trophy.

Update: the time sheets have been published and you can check the 42 riders’ laps after the jump.

If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories