Highcroft Acura Wins ALMS at Mosport Park

David Brabham and Scott Sharp managed to take the win in the American Le Mans Series race held at Mosport International Raceway, Bowmanville, Ontario, Canada.

The race on Sunday saw Gil de Ferran on the Acura ARX 02a eager to take the win, as he passed the Patron Highcroft Acura that took pole position. Suffering a bad start in the race, the Highcroft Acura was sent back into third by Intersport's Jon Field.

As the race heated up, Jon Field even tried to take on de Ferran's Acura in what was a spectacular first stint. Meanwhile, Sharp of the Patron Highcroft Acura team battled with Marino Franchitti in his LMP2 Dyson Lola-Mazda, but was eventually overpassed.

But the de Ferran-Pagenaud duo encountered problems with their gearbox losing oil and had to pit longer, which allowed Brabham and Sharp to take the win for the consecutive time at Mosport, being winners in the LMP2 class last year.

"It’s a little ebb and flow,” declared Sharp, who won three times at Mosport in Trans-Am. “We think we gave a few races away this year. We definitely would have won at Long Beach and should have won Lime Rock. We helped contribute to (de Ferran’s) four-race win streak. To get a little bit of that back is a case of ‘what goes-around-can-come-around’. The team really rallied well at Lime Rock. We kept our heads up and wanted to keep doing what we’re doing. We rolled in here after Road America (an overall victory two weeks ago) with the same feeling"

"We knew they were potentially going to have a problem in the race,”
Brabham said of the de Ferran crew. “They had some issues in the practices, and we all talk. We were trying not to focus on them but focus on us and getting the job done."

Pos Cl  Drivers  Car  Time/Gap
1. P1 Brabham/Sharp Acura ARX 02a 2h45m03.171s
2. P1 de Ferran/Pagenaud Acura ARX 02a + 1 laps
3. P2 Fernandez/Diaz Acura ARX-01B + 4 laps
4. P1 Field/Field Lola B06/10 + 6 laps
5. P2 Leitzinger/Franchitti Lola B09 86 Mazda + 13 laps
6. GT2 Magnussen/O'Connell Chevrolet Corvette + 14 laps
7. GT2 Melo/Kaffer Ferrari 430 + 14 laps
8. GT2 Beretta/Gavin Chevrolet Corvette + 15 laps
9. GT2 Henzler/Werner Porsche 911 RSR + 15 laps
10. GT2 Bergmeister/Long Porsche 911 RSR + 16 laps
11. GT2 Farnbacher/James Panoz Esperante + 16 laps
12. GT2 Law/van Overbeek Porsche 911 RSR + 16 laps
13. GT2 Feinberg/Hall Dodge Viper + 18 laps
14. GT2 Hand/Auberlen BMW E92 M3 + 21 laps
15. GT2 Murry/Robertson/Robertson Doran Ford GT-R + 26 laps
16. GT2 Mueller/Milner BMW E92 M3 + 60 laps
17. P1 Burgess/McMurry Lola B06/10 + 68 laps
18. P2 Dyson/Smith Lola B09 86 Mazda + 88 laps
DQ. P2 van der Steur/Pecorari Radical SR9 -
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories