FIA WTCC Changes Points Format for the 2010 Season

The FIA World Touring Car Championship (FIA WTCC) announced a new points format for the 2010 season. And it seems the new point-scoring system adopted by the Formula One championship a few weeks back is quite trendy, as some FIA-sanctioned series have also picked it up and implemented into their own rulebook as well.

After the World Rally Championship, the FIA WTCC will also award points to the Top 10 finishers – as compared to last year, when only the first 8 drivers at the finish line had made the scoreboard. The points will be awarded F1 style, with the format 25, 18, 15, 12, 10, 8, 6, 4, 2 and 1, from 1st to 10th place respectively.

The system will be implemented from the very first race of the season, scheduled next week in Curitiba, and will be in place for both Race 1 and Race 2, while the reverse grid rule for the second race of the weekend still stands.

Additionally, the championship organizers have also confirmed the minimum weight of the cars for the opening two rounds of the 2010 season. According to a media release published on the series' website, the weights are as followed:

BMW 320si: 1155kg
Chevrolet Cruze: 1150kg
Chevrolet Lacetti: 1140kg (as per the –10kg waiver granted by the Touring Car Committee)
SEAT León TDI: 1170kg
SEAT León TFSI: 1150kg
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories