Desalle and Roczen Score Motocross Wins in Bulgaria

The Motocross World Championship kicked off this week-end in Sevlievo, Bulgaria with Clement Desalle and Ken Roczen clinching victories. 2010 MX1 World Champion Antonio Cairoli had reasons to be upset about twisting his left knee while landing from a jump in the first race of the MX 1 class. He finished the week-end on the ninth position, while Rockstar Energy Suzuki’s Clement Desalle managed to win the Bulgarian Grand Prix MX 1 class with Steven Frossard and Jonathan Barragán finishing second and third. Desalle crashed during the last lap of the first race, but recovered and finished the race in second. Fortune changed for the Belgian rider on the second heat where he won the holeshot and the race despite the efforts of Steve Frossard and Jonathan Barragan who overtook him, but couldn’t keep their positions. It was the first Grand Prix in the MX 1 class for Motocross Energy Yamaha’s rider Steven Frossard who won the Qualifying race as well as the first race of the weekend. By the end of the second heat, Frossard made a couple of mistakes that forced him to settle for the second spot. In the MX 2 class, Ken Roczen dominated both days of racing with Tommy Searle and Jeffrey Herlings managing to finish second and third, respectively. The German rider was unbeatable during both heats, managing to win the holeshots and leading each race form start to end. CLS Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Tommy Searle was second overall thanks to great results in both races. Searle finished both races in second place, while Red Bull Teka KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings scored a fifth place in heat one and a third place in heat number two, enough to secure him the third spot in the overall standings. MX1 Overall top ten:
1. Clement Desalle (BEL, Suzuki), 47 points
2. Steven Frossard (FRA, Yamaha), 47 points
3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, Kawasaki), 35 points
4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 35 points
5. Rui Goncalves (POR, Honda), 29 points

MX2 Overall top ten:

1. Ken Roczen (GER, KTM), 50 points
2. Tommy Searle (GBR, Kawasaki), 44 points
3. Jeffrey Herlings (NED, KTM), 36 points
4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Yamaha), 34 points
5. Zachary Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 32 points
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories