Watch Johnny Walker Dominate the Erzbergrodeo Hare Scramble 2014

The 20th edition of the amazing Erzbergrodeo got underway this weekend around the iconic and fearsome Iron Giant in central Austria. Unlike last year, when the starting line area was almost completely under water, the anniversary edition was helped by fair weather, even though heavy rain before the event had really soaked the forest sections.
Dougie Lampkin at the Erzbergrodeo 2014 8 photos
Photo: Red Bull
Johnny Walker at the Erzbergrodeo 2014Dougie Lampkin at the Erzbergrodeo 2014Erzbergrodeo 2014Johnny Walker at the Erzbergrodeo 2014Erzbergrodeo 2014Cody Webb at the Erzbergrodeo 2014Erzbergrodeo 2014
Just like in other years, only 500 riders out of around 1,800 made it past the Prolog timed trial and have been allowed to start the 32.9 km-long (20.4 mi) race around the Eisenerz Mountain. One of the top extreme enduro events of the planet, the Erzberg Red Bull Hare Scramble assembled the biggest names in this sport, with this year’s having well-known names among the favorites: Dougie Lampkin, last year’s winner Graham Jarvis, Johnny Walker, Andreas Lettenbichler, or David Knight.

A race against the clock and the extremely tough scenery, The Hare Scramble puts both riders and their machines to the test, from the huge boulders in the Carl’s Dinner to steep hill climbs, very narrow and slipper trails in the forest or mind-boggling drops.

With a fantastic mind frame, Jarvis was ready to blast from the word go, but he ran into troubles right after the start, at the exit from the quarry, allowing an exceedingly fast Johnny Walker to shoot ahead. Walker has not only led and won the race, but did it in such a dominant manner rarely seen before, if ever at all.

Walker blasted up, down and around the Erzberg in 1 hour 37 minutes and 38 seconds, with Jarvis, who was himself very quick, needing almost 15 more minutes to reach the finish Red bull arch. Lettenbichler, who finished second in 2013, had to settle for the third position, but was extremely happy with it, as he declared that stepping on the Erzberg podium feels just like a victory. Last year’s 3rd-fastest Alfredo Gomez managed to come in the 4th position, narrowly beating Paul Bolton. Lampkin was 6th, folloed by Cory Graffunder, Ben Hemingway, Taylor Robert and Cody Webb for the top 10 riders to finish the grueling 2013 race.

Reb Bull TV is offering you to relive the intense 4 hours of hardcore action around the Iron Giant, so grab a beer and enjoy this display of enduro skills and guts.

If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories