Tony Kanaan Wins 2013 Indy 500

Brazil’s Tony Kanaan has won the 97th running of the Indianapolis 500 crossing the finish line under caution, after a late crash caused the race to end under yellow flag restrictions. The KV Racing Technology driver, who slipped in front of Ryan Hunter-Reay in turn one on a lap 198 restart, secured his win after a crash that involved Dario Franchitti, which occurred seconds later, put the final lap under the yellow. "That last lap was the longest of my life. I got a little bit of luck today and this is for the fans. I was looking at the stands and it was unbelievable. I am speechless. I made it, and now I get to put my ugly face on that trophy. We were known for not winning and now we are known for winning. Everything was so smooth,” Kanaan said. The 38-year-old Brazilian driver started the race in12th position and led the pack for 34 laps out of 200. Top 10 results:
2013 Indy 500 1 photo
Photo: IndianapolisMotorSpeedway
1. Tony Kanaan - KV Racing Technology (Chevrolet)
2. Carlos Munoz - Andretti Autosport (Chevrolet)
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay - Andretti Autosport (Chevrolet)
4. Marco Andretti - Andretti Autosport (Chevrolet)
5. Hustin Wilson - Dale Coyne Racing (Honda)
6. Helio Castroneves - Team Penske (Chevrolet)
7. A.J. Allmendinger - Team Penske (Chevrolet)
8. Simon Pagenaud - Schmidt Hamilton Motorsports (Honda)
9. Charlie Kimball - Chip Ganassi Racing (Honda)
10. Ed Carpenter - Ed Carpenter Racing (Chevrolet)
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)
About the author: Ciprian Florea
Ciprian Florea profile photo

Ask Ciprian about cars and he'll reveal an obsession with classics and an annoyance with modern design cues. Read his articles and you'll understand why his ideal SUV is the 1969 Chevrolet K5 Blazer.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories