The 'Green Hell' Is Ready for the BMW Motorsport Teams

BMW Z4 GT3 1 photo
Photo: BMW Motorsport
Just 10 days from now, the Nurburgring-Nordschleife will host the 41st edition of the 24 hour race, in which BMW claimed more victories than any other manufacturer over the years.
19 races out of 40 (nearly half) were won by BMW cars since the 24-hour race was initially launched. Furthermore, 8 out of these were one-two wins. 1970 was the year of the first BMW victory at the Nurburgring 24 hours race.

Back then, Clemens Schikentanz and Hans Joachim Stuck were victorious in a BMW 2002ti and after that many followed. In 1998 Andreas Bovensiepen, Marc Duez, Christian Menzel and Stuck managed to secure the first victory for a diesel car in a BMW 320d.

BMW Team Schubert and BMW Sports Trophy Team Marc VDS will be entering the race this year, trying to achieve a better result than last year, when Marc VDS Racing placed fourth.

Things are really looking up this year, as Uwe Alzen proved the Z4 GT3 is capable of setting the pace on the Nordschleife, breaking the lap record during the qualifying runs, claiming the pole position.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories