Stars in Row for the 2009 Toyota Pro/Celebrity Race

This year's Toyota Pro/Celebrity Race is expected to be very challenging as many celebs have signed in for the big prize to be donated to charity. Among the stars who agreed to compete in the race, which is part of the 35th annual Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, we note "The Matrix" star- Keanu Reeves,  the Academy Award winning actor in 2002 for his role in Roman Polanski's "The Pianist" - Adrien Brody, Golden Globe award winning actor and Emmy nominee for "Mad Men"-Jon Hamm, five-time Emmy award winning host of the television game show, "Jeopardy!" - Alex Trebek and comedian/host of Comedy Central's "Mind of Mencia" - Carlos Mencia.

The list also includes other celebs like Luke Wilson, who starred in "3:10 to Yuma", Tim Daly, currently starring as Peter Wilder on the "Grey's Anatomy" spin-off, Tyson Beckford, model, actor and co-host of the Bravo series "Make Me a Supermodel", Raven Symone, actress, R&B/pop singer, songwriter and dancer, best known for her roles on "Cosby", Eric Close, currently co-starring on CBS's "Without a Trace",  Mary Lynn Rajskub, actress, artist and comedienne, Danny Way, pro-skateboarder and Ken Baker, executive news editor of E! Entertainment.

"With all the high-caliber Hollywood stars in the field, this year's race is sure to be a blockbuster," said Les Unger, Toyota's national motorsports manager. "The Toyota Pro/Celebrity Race is win-win for everyone, because it gives fans a chance to see their favorite performers in action-packed real racing while offering the celebrities an opportunity to 'give back' to children in need."

All these celebs will race for the prize of $5,000 which will be donated by Toyota to the winning racer's charity of choice. Apart from this, the Japanese car maker will donate $5,000 to "Racing for Kids", a national non-profit program benefiting children's hospitals in Long Beach and Orange County, California, on behalf of each celebrity racer.

Besides the celebs,  the celebrity and overall winner of the 2008 Toyota Pro/Celebrity Race, Jamie Little and Al Unser, Jr., the two-time Indianapolis 500 winner, two-time CART Series Champion and overall winner of the 1985 Toyota Pro/Celebrity Race, Johnny Benson, 2008 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion and Coy Gibbs, owner of the JGRMX Supercross/Motocross Team will also take part in the competition. But as you know, the celebs receive a 30-second head start to begin the race against the professionals and past champions.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories