NASCAR Announces New Crew, Engine Rules for 2010 Nationwide Series

The 2010 season of the Nationwide Series will bring some new changes in the championship's rule book, as confirmed by NASCAR via a press release on Tuesday. Following the addition of one more verification tire test for the new car – set for May 18-19, at Daytona International Speedway – NASCAR also tweaked some rules a little bit.

Consequently, “beginning with the 2010 season-opening race at Daytona on Feb. 13, the NASCAR Nationwide Series will institute crew member limits similar to the program the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series utilized last season.”

Teams will be limited to 15 crew members for each event, including the driver, crew chief, spotter and seven over-the-wall team members each race weekend throughout the season. Teams also will not be required to provide a scorer,” added the official statement of NASCAR.

The crew limits are a direct result of the continuing dialogue we have with our series owners to reduce at-track costs. The program was successful in the truck series and we anticipate that same result,” said Joe Balash, director of the NASCAR Nationwide Series.

In addition to the crew limiting, the Nationwide engine-seal rules will also suffer some important modifications, as teams will only be allowed to run a powerplant previously sealed by NASCAR officials for a maximum of 2 consecutive races. Through the 2009 season, teams were allowed to use the engine for a maximum of 3 consecutive events.

However, when referring to this latest rule tweak, the change in sealed engine use will not apply for the Daytona and Talladega.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories