Mercedes-Benz SSK, 300 SL, W25, W196 R and G-Class Win Awards

No less than six categories of the Motor Klassik Award 2014 managed to be won by the brand with the three-pointed star, with readers of the German classic car magazine voting for five different Mercedes-Benz classic cars and for their genuine parts division.
Mercedes-Benz W196 R 10 photos
Photo: Daimler AG
Mercedes-Benz G-Class W460 FamilyMercedes-Benz W25Mercedes-Benz SSKMercedes-Benz 300 SLMercedes-Benz W196 RMercedes-Benz G-Class W461Mercedes-Benz SSKMercedes-Benz 300 SLMercedes-Benz W196 R
The five winning cars consist of the Ferdinand Porsche-designed Mercedes-Benz SSK, the original Silver Arrow W25 Grand Prix car, the legendary 300 SL “Gullwing” Coupe (W198), the W196 R Grand Prix car and the only classic Mercedes-Benz still in production, the G-Class.

In a sixth category, classic cars magazine Motor Klassik readers also voted the Mercedes-Benz genuine parts as “Best Brand”, making for a total of six awards for the Stuttgart car manufacturer in this year's edition of the prizes.

The Mercedes-Benz SSK's name comes from Super Sport Kurz, which means Super Sport Short in German, thanks to its shorter wheelbase. Powered by a supercharged inline six that offered 225 hp, it would be a fast car even by today's standards.

Known by most Mercedes-Benz aficionados as the Grand Prix car that started the Silver Arrows era for the three-pointed star in the 1930s, the W25 dominated the international racing scene in its time.

With its legendary Gullwing-doors and world's first production engine with direct injection, the Mercedes-Benz 300 SL is seen by many as the original auto show supercar and this year it celebrates exactly 60 years since it was launched.

Designed by Rudolf Uhlenhaut, the Mercedes-Benz W196 R was arguably the most successful grand prix car of the 1954 and 1955 Formula 1 seasons, managing to win no less than 9 of the 12 races it entered with both Juan Manuel Fangio and Stirling Moss behind the wheel.

The fifth car voted by Motor Klassik readers is also the only one still in production today, with the G-Class actually selling better than ever now. First entering civilian production in 1979, it has been built continuously until today, marking the greatness of its original design.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)
About the author: Alex Oagana
Alex Oagana profile photo

Alex handled his first real steering wheel at the age of five (on a field) and started practicing "Scandinavian Flicks" at 14 (on non-public gravel roads). Following his time at the University of Journalism, he landed his first real job at the local franchise of Top Gear magazine a few years before Mircea (Panait). Not long after, Alex entered the New Media realm with the project.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories