Marshall Teague, Rusty Wallace Named to 2014 Motorsports Hall of Fame of America

Former NASCAR drivers Marshall Teague and Rusty Wallace will be among the seven people to be inducted in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America this year. MSHF will induct its 26th class or racing legends on August 6, at Detroit’s historic Fillmore Theater.
Marshall Teague 1 photo
Named NASCAR Rookie of the Year in 1984, Wallace won his only Sprint Cup title in 1989. He retired with 55 wins, ranking 9th in the all-time career wins standing. Teague, on the other hand, is credited with pioneering factory participation in NASCAR by persuading Hudson to back him in the competition. He drove a “Fabulous Hudson Hornet” in 1951-1952.

Besides Wallace and Teague, the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America will also honor former drivers Raymond Beadle, Ricky Graham and Arie Luyendyk. Known for his Blue Max funny car, Beadle won three consecutive NHRA and IHRA championships between 1975 and 1981. Graham is an three-time AMA Grand National champion and 1993 AMA Athlete of the Year, while Luyendyk has two Indy 500 wins to his name, among other achievements.

Ole Bardahl and John Bishop are also to be included in the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America for their contributions to racing. Bardahl, who founded the Bardahl Oil Company, sponsored IndyCars for 25 years and won several championships with his “Miss Bardahl” powerboats and airplanes. Bishop will be honored for helping create the USRRC for Group 7 sports cars and the SCCA Trans-Am and Can-Am series. He also played a key role in founding the IMSA.

More details on Motorsports Hall of Fame’s 26t class of racing legends are available in the press release below.

press release

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories