Juan Montoya's No. 42 Team Wins 2009 Mechanix Award

As the 2009 season ended, NASCAR is punching the numbers and tries to decide who, or what, was the best in their respective fields. When it comes to the best pit crew, NASCAR decided to hand over the award for most valuable pit crew to Juan Montoya's No. 42.

The award, handed over under the Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Crew Award title, is the single competition in which votes are cast by crew chiefs. They all decided to give the award to the No. 42 thanks to their "fast pit stops, flawless performance and incredible effort during the 36-race season."

The No. 42 is made up of the following people;
  • Gas Man – Mike Bodick
  • Jack Man - T.J. Ford
  • Catch Can - Heath Silver
  • Front-Tire Changer - Trevor Lysne
  • Front-Tire Carrier - Eric Bilyeu
  • Rear-Tire Changer - Chris McMullen
  • Rear-Tire Carrier - Chip Goode
  • Crew Chief - Brian Pattie
The members of the crew, who also won the Mechanix Wear Most Valuable Pit Crew Award for the third quarter, will go home for the winter with the trophy and the $100,000 grand prize.

"Most of these guys on Team Target have been together for some time now," chief Pattie said according to NASCAR. "And it's really nice to see them recognized for the great job that they do week in and week out. They played a huge role in us making it into the Chase for the Sprint Cup and I am really proud of them."
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
About the author: Daniel Patrascu
Daniel Patrascu profile photo

Daniel loves writing (or so he claims), and he uses this skill to offer readers a "behind the scenes" look at the automotive industry. He also enjoys talking about space exploration and robots, because in his view the only way forward for humanity is away from this planet, in metal bodies.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories