Jimmie Johnson, Chevrolet Win 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series

Jimmie Johnson wins 2013 NASCAR 1 photo
Hendrick Motorsports driver Jimmie Johnson won his sixth NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship in eight years last Sunday, after finishing ninth in the Ford EcoBoost 400 at Homestead Miami Speedway, in the season’s last race.
Johnson - who scored six wins and 24 top tens throughout the season - topped the drivers’ ranking with 2419 points. The 38-year-old is followed by Matt Kenseth (Joe Gibbs Racing - Toyota), Kevin Harvick (Richard Childress Racing - Chevrolet), Kyle Busch (Joe Gibbs Racing - Toyota) and Dale Earnhardt Jr.

Moving over to the manufacturers’ championship, Chevrolet scored most points and wins over the season’s 36 races - 254 and 16 respectively - while Toyota took second place with 229 points and 14 triumphs. Ford, on the other hand, had to settle with third position, 194 points and six wins.

Jimmie Johnson’s sixth title leaves him only one behind legend Richard Petty and Dale Earnhardt, both with seven championships to their name.

If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
About the author: Ciprian Florea
Ciprian Florea profile photo

Ask Ciprian about cars and he'll reveal an obsession with classics and an annoyance with modern design cues. Read his articles and you'll understand why his ideal SUV is the 1969 Chevrolet K5 Blazer.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories