Inaugural NASCAR Hall of Fame Nominees Announced

The National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing (NASCAR) announced yesterday, via a press release, that it would induct 5 names into the Hall of Fame in October this year via a voting process nationwide. According to the statement, fans will get the chance to vote for their favorite race driver from a list of 25 nominees, posted on NASCAR's official web site.

The list of 25 nominees was decided upon by a “21-person nominating committee consisting of representatives from NASCAR, the NASCAR Hall of Fame and track owners from both major facilities and historic short tracks,” as confirmed by NASCAR.

This first list of potential inductees is impressive, to say the least. Now comes the hard part — choosing only five to be inducted. Every single person on this list is worthy to be in the NASCAR Hall of Fame,” said NASCAR Chairman and CEO Brian France.

Now, don't get it wrong. The fans will have a saying in the election process, but it won't be determinant. From the 25-racer list presented by NASCAR, the 5 winners will be chosen via a 50-member Voting Panel. The fan's vote will only count for the 51st voice of the committee.

The 50-member panel will be comprised of “the entire Nominating Committee, 14 media members, four manufacturer representatives and nine retired competitors (drivers, owners, crew chiefs — three each) and two recognized industry leaders,” as confirmed by NASCAR.

The five winners will be announced in October and will be honored by NASCAR in May 2010, at the new Hall of Fame facility in Charlotte, N.C.

Here is the list of HOF nominees:

Bobby Allison, 1983 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and winner of 84 races
Buck Baker, the first driver to win consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
Red Byron, first NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, in 1949
Richard Childress, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
Dale Earnhardt, won record seven NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
Richie Evans, nine-time NASCAR Modified champion
Tim Flock, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
Bill France Jr., NASCAR president, chairman and CEO (1972-2003)
Bill France Sr., NASCAR founder and first president (1948-1972)
Rick Hendrick, 11-time car owner champion in NASCAR’s three national series
Ned Jarrett, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
Junior Johnson, 50 wins as a driver, 132 wins and six championships as an owner
Bud Moore, 63 wins and two NASCAR Sprint Cup titles as a car owner
Raymond Parks, NASCAR’s first champion car owner
Benny Parsons, 1973 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
David Pearson, 105 victories and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
Lee Petty, winner of the first Daytona 500 and first three-time series champion
Richard Petty, 200 wins and seven NASCAR Sprint Cup titles — both records
Fireball Roberts, won 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup races, including the 1962 Daytona 500
Herb Thomas, first two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion, 1951 and ’53
Curtis Turner, first to win Daytona 500, Southern 500, Coca-Cola 600 in same year
Darrell Waltrip, winner of 84 races and three NASCAR Sprint Cup championships
Joe Weatherly, two-time NASCAR Sprint Cup champion
Glen Wood, as driver, laid foundation for Wood Brothers’ future team success
Cale Yarborough, winner of three consecutive NASCAR Sprint Cup titles, 1976-78


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories