Hulkenberg Takes Bahrain Pole

ART Grand Prix sure got it right when signing rookie Nico Hulkenberg for the remaining rounds of the GP2 Asian Series. The German rallied to pole position in Bahrain yesterday, after previously finishing runner-up in the practice session earlier in the day. Hulkenberg scored the best time of 1:41.351 at Sakhir, while followed by DAMS's driver Jerome D'Ambrosio more than one tenth of a second behind.

Third overall on the Bahrain GP grid will be Kamui Kobayashi, the DAMS driver who previously clinched the first practice session on Thursday. Along with teammate D'Ambrosio, the Japanese driver was the only one to finish the qualifying session within two tenths of a second from pole sitter Hulkenberg.

Kobayashi and Hulkenberg were also the only drivers in the GP2 pack to have just completed Formula 1 tests this week. The former drove the Toyota TF109 earlier this week, while the latter tested Williams F1's 2009 challenger, the FW31. Both tests took place at the Algarve circuit, in Portimao.

Edoardo Mortara, newcomer in this year's GP2 Asia Series, finished the qualifying session as the 4th best driver, recording a time 0.627-second slower than Hulkenberg.

The third row was formed by 2nd placed in the overall classification Roldan Rodriguez (Piquet Sports) and Giedo van der Garde (iSport International). The next drivers on the grid will start as followed:

1. Nico Hulkenberg ART 1:41.351
2. Jerome d'Ambrosio DAMS 1:41.476 (+0.125)
3. Kamui Kobayashi DAMS 1:41.522 (+0.172)
4. Edoardo Mortara Arden 1:41.978 (+0.627)
5. Roldan Rodriguez Piquet 1:42.195 (+0.844)
6. Giedo van der Garde iSport 1:42.307 (+0.956)
7. Sakon Yamamoto ART 1:42.344 (+0.993)
8. Javier Villa Super Nova 1:42.355 (+1.004)
9. Marco Bonanomi Qi-Meritus 1:42.362 (+1.011)
10. Davide Valsecchi Durango 1:42.449 (+1.098)
11. Vitaly Petrov Campos 1:42.458 (+1.107)
12. Diego Nunes Piquet 1:42.564 (+1.213)
13. Sergio Perez Campos 1:42.632 (+1.282)
14. James Jakes Super Nova 1:42.636 (+1.285)
15. Earl Bamber Qi-Meritus 1:42.798 (+1.447)
16. Hamad Al-Fardan iSport 1:42.818 (+1.467)
17. Yelmer Buurman Ocean 1:42.833 (+1.482)
18. Luiz Razia Arden 1:43.061 (+1.710)
19. Fabrizio Crestani Ocean 1:43.373 (+2.022)
20. Adrian Valles Trident 1:43.401 (+2.050)
21. Michael Herck DPR 1:43.413 (+2.062)
22. Rodolfo Gonzalez FMS 1:43.701 (+2.351)
23. Giacomo Ricci Trident 1:44.043 (+2.692)
24. Frankie Provenzano Trident 1:44.325 (+2.974)
25. Kevin Nai Chia Chen FMS 1:45.281 (+3.930)
26. Michael Dalle Stelle Durango no time
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories