Hendrick Motorsports Reorganize Team for 2011 NASCAR Sprint Cup

If it's not broken, why fix it? This seems to be the strategy of the future season for NASCAR Sprint Cup winning squad Hendrick Motorsports, at least as far as world champion Jimmie Johnson is concerned. When talking about the other drivers of Rick Hendrick's team, namely Jeff Gordon, Dale Earnhardt Jr. and Mark Martin, everything changes for the upcoming campaign.

And it's not like Hendrick will fire some crew chiefs in the off-season, but move them around within the organization in order for each to set new aims and challenges for the year ahead.

As announced in a press release from the team, the changes will be as follows: Dale Earnhardt's crew chief, Lance McGrew, moves over to the No. 5 team of Mark Martin; Steve Letarte moves from Jeff Gordon's No. 24 team to Dale Earnhardt's No. 88 team; and Alan Gustafson becomes Jeff Gordon's crew chief after two years with Mark Martin.

This will improve us as an organization, across the board. We had a championship season [in 2010], but we weren't where we wanted and needed to be with all four teams. We've made the right adjustments, and I'm excited to go racing with this lineup,” said Hendrick, according to, citing the Sporting News Wire Service.

From the 4 racing crews prepared by the Hendrick Motorsports organization, only two have made the 2010 Chase, Johnson and Gordon, but the latter failed to win a single race all season long.

In addition to the aforementioned changes, Gordon's #24 Chevrolet will be taken care of in the same facility as Martin's #5 car (Gordon's was previously set up in the same place with Jimmie Johnson's), while Johnson's #5 challenger will be prepared in the same facility with Dale Earnhardt's #88 Chevrolet.


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories