Hamlin Takes Cup Win in Richmond

Denny Hamlin of Joe Gibbs Racing took Saturday night the win in the Chevy Rock & Roll 400 at Richmond International Raceway. The Sprint Cup Series event saw Hamlin achieve a well deserved win after leading 298 laps of the 400 scheduled. Hamlin managed to finally take the win on his home track after dominating here in the past as well. In 2008, Hamlin led 381 laps, but had a problem with one the tires and finished sixth. Earlier this year, he led 148 laps but in the end managed only 14th place. "This is my house," Hamlin said. "It has been for the last two years -- we just haven't got the win to show for it. Finally, our FedEx Toyota showed that we're a championship contender." Denny Hamlin emphasized the importance of winning here at Richmond saying it’s “like a Daytona 500 win for anyone else”. Kurt Busch finished second, followed by Jeff Gordon, whereas Mark Martin, who started from pole-position finished, fourth. But it wasn’t all about the victorious Denny Hamlin last night, as Brian Vickers finished 7th, securing a spot in the Chase. The playoff system was introduced in 2004 and puts the top 12 drivers head-to-head in what is called the Chase. Vickers managed to knock-out of the Chase both Matt Kenseth and Kyle Busch. Juan Pablo Montoya, the former Formula One driver, finished the race on 19th spot with his Chevrolet and secured his place in the Chase as well. This makes him the first non-American ever to enter the Chase for the Sprint Cup. The Chase, comprised of 10 races, will begin next week at Hampshire Motor Speedway. Here are the top 12 drivers who made the Chase Pos. Driver                 Points       Wins 1. Mark Martin             5,040         4 2. Tony Stewart           5,030         3 3. Jimmie Johnson     5,030         3 4. Denny Hamlin          5,020          2 5. Kasey Kahne            5,020         2 6. Jeff Gordon               5,010        1 7. Kurt Busch                5,010        1 8. Brian Vickers            5,010        1 9. Carl Edwards            5,000        0 10. Ryan Newman       5,000         0 11. Juan Montoya        5,000         0 12. Greg Biffle               5,000         0
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories