FOTA Calendar for 2010 Series Leaked

With the Formula One Teams Association (FOTA) revving up plans for a new series, several rumors started to surface the media regarding the potential calendar for 2010. However, it was the British publication The Guardian that somehow managed to put their hands on the FOTA list, as the publication published a full schedule – dates and grands prix – for the controversial breakaway series next year.

We don't know whether the calendar was leaked intentionally by the FOTA – in order to show the International Automobile Federation, and Max Mosley in particular, that they mean business – or this was the result of an investigative report, but then again, that's really not our problem. This may very well be another strategic move in the never-ending dispute between the two bodies.

The 2010 calendar, as decided upon by the FOTA, would be comprised of 17 rounds, with most of the venues being former F1 tracks. There are some names included in the list that are already hosting Formula One races – like Monaco, Abu Dhabi, Monza and Singapore street circuit – for which the FOTA will most likely face legal opposition from F1 supremo Bernie Ecclestone.

Here is the calendar, as leaked in The Guardian:

7 March – Buenos Aires, Argentina (Last hosted F1 in 1998)
21 March – Mexico City, Mexico (Last hosted F1 in 1992)
11 April – Jerez, Spain (Last hosted F1 in 1997)
25 April – Portimao, Portugal (Never hosted F1)
2 May – Imola, San Marino (Last hosted F1 in 2006)
23 May – Monte Carlo, Monaco (Current F1 host)
6 June – Montreal, Canada (Last hosted F1 in 2008)
13 June – Indianapolis, United States (Last hosted F1 in 2007)
11 July – Silverstone, United Kingdom (Current F1 host)
25 July – Magny-Cours, France (Last hosted F1 in 2008)
15 August – Laustizring, Germany (Never hosted F1)
29 August – Helsinki, Finland (Never hosted F1)
12 September – Monza, Italy (Current F1 host)
26 September – Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates (Current F1 host)
10 October – Marina Bay, Singapore (Current F1 host)
24 October – Suzuka, Japan (Last hosted F1 in 2006)
7 November – Adelaide or Surfers' Paradise, Australia (Last hosted F1 in 1995/Never hosted F1)

The FOTA's next meeting is scheduled on Thursday this week, when further plans are to be discussed on the new series.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories