Ford EcoBoost-powered Ganassi Wins 12 Hours of Sebring

Ford EcoBoost Riley race car 1 photo
Photo: IMSA
This year’s 12 Hours of Sebring endurance race was the first to kick off under new Tudor United SportsCar Championship ruling. But that wasn’t the only reason that made this event special. This weekend’s race marked the first victory for the new Ford EcoBoost engine that motivates Chip Ganassi's Riley car.
Driven by Scott Pruett, Memo Rojan and Marino Franchitti, the Ford EcoBoost Riley prototype went on to win after taking the lead with only 21 minutes left. The race featured no less than 30 lead changes and didn’t have a clear pacemaker in more than 11 hours.

Marino Franchitti crossed the finish line only 4.68 seconds ahead of Ryan Dalziel’s Extreme Speed Honda ARZ-03B.

By winning the 12 Hours of Sebring, Ganassi became the first motorsports team to triumph in the Indy 500, Daytona 500, Brickyward 400, 24 at Daytona and at Sebring.

“It’s incredible,” Pruett said. “After all those victories you hope to get, this was still one on my bucket list. I’ve won here in class but never won overall. It’s even more exciting to win it overall, and to win it for Ford both times. I can’t say enough about the Ganassi group. We all worked together as a team and kept digging.”

While Ford captured the checkered flag overall, Porsche won both the GTLM and GTD classes with the 911 RSR and the 911 GT America respectively. The Prototype Challenge class win went to the No. 10 Oreca FLM09.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
About the author: Ciprian Florea
Ciprian Florea profile photo

Ask Ciprian about cars and he'll reveal an obsession with classics and an annoyance with modern design cues. Read his articles and you'll understand why his ideal SUV is the 1969 Chevrolet K5 Blazer.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories