FIA WTCC Reveal 2009 Entry List

The FIA World Touring Car Championship has announced its teams' and drivers' entry list for the 2009 season. As reported by our site throughout the offseason, the two manufacturers that have chosen not to change their driver lineups in any way ahead of their 2009 campaign are SEAT Sport and Chevrolet.

The reigning world champions – in both manufacturers and drivers classification – went for the if-it-works-why-change-it approach for 2009, retaining WTCC champ Yvan Muller for 2009. Alongside the Frenchman, Italy's Gabriele Tarquini, Sweden's Rickard Rydell, Spain's Jordi Gene and Portugal's Tiago Monteiro will drive the revised Seat Leon 2.0 TDI through the upcoming season.

Chevrolet's only change for the 2009 campaign refers to the racing material, as the UK-based team decided to start the new season with a modified Chevrolet Cruze. The car is currently pending the FIA homologation. The team's driver lineup remained unchanged, with Robert Huff, Alain Menu and Nicola Larini all on board for the new challenge.

BMW proceeded to some minor changes in terms of driver lineup, replacing Felix Porteiro with last year's champion of the Yokohama Independents' Trophy, Sergio Hernandez. The Spaniard practically switched places with Porteiro, as the former BMW works driver was named official driver for Proteam Motorsport in 2009.

Here is the complete entry list, as announced by the FIA WTCC:

SEAT Sport (Seat Leon 2.0 TDI): (1) Yvan Muller, (2) Gabriele Tarquini, (3) Rickard Rydell, (4) Jordi Gene, (5) Tiago Porteiro
BMW Team UK (BMW 320si): (6) Andy Priaulx
BMW Team Germany (BMW 320si): (7) Jorg Muller, (8) Augusto Farfus
BMW Team Italy-Spain (BMW 320si): (9) Alessandro Zanardi, (10) Sergio Hernandez
Chevrolet (Chevrolet Cruze): (11) Robert Huff, (12) Alain Menu, (13) Nicola Larini
Campos Racing (Honda Accord Euro R): (15) Antonio Garcia
LADA Sport (LADA 110 2.0): (18) Jaap van Lagen, (19) Kirill Ladygin, (20) Viktor Shapovalov
SUNRED Engineering (SEAT Leon 2.0 TFSI): (21) Tom Coronel, (22) Tom Boardman
Scuderia Proteam Motorsport (BMW 320si): (23) Felix Porteiro, (24) George Tanev
Liqui Moly Team Engstler (BMW 320si): (26) Franz Engstler, (26) Kristian Poulsen
Wiechers-Sport (BMW 320si): (27) Stefano D'Aste
Colak Racing Team Ingra (Seat Leon 2.0 TFSI): (28) Marin Colak
SUNRED Engineering (Seat Leon 2.0 TFSI): (29) to be determined
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories