FIA Announce WRC Manufacturer Entry List for 2009

The World Rally Championship announced the entries for this year's manufacturer competition. As expected, only Citroen and Ford will compete for the world title this year, being the only teams that have registered for all the WRC events in 2009.

Being the reigning world champions, Citroen was granted the first two numbers in the championship – 1 and 2 – while Ford received the No 3&4 competition numbers for the season. Five-time champion Sebastien Loeb will have the No 1 number on his car for the entire duration of the season, while last year's runner-up Mikko Hirvonen will undergo the same procedure with his No 3 entry.

As far as the two drivers' teammates are concerned, Dani Sordo (Citroen) and Jari-Matti Latvala (Ford) will initially be allocated the No 2 and No 4 entries respectively. However, throughout the WRC events this season, the two will switch competition numbers depending on their overall position in the drivers' standings.

The former M2 competition – now known as the 8-event Manufacturer Team classification – currently includes 2 teams: the Stobart VK M-Sport Ford Rally Team and the new Citroen Junior Team (both second teams for the championship's leading manufacturers Ford and Citroen). Although they announced fielding more than 2 cars per event in 2008, the two teams were granted the No 5&6 (Stobart) and 7&8 (Citroen Junior) entries for the upcoming season.

The WRC officials are expecting two other entries for the new season – namely the Adapta World Rally Team and the Munchi’s World Rally Team – as the subscription period will end on March 1st. The two outfits are yet to name their driver's lineup or reveal their WRC programme for 2009.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories