Dale Earnhardt Jr. Wins Daytona 500

Dale Earnhardt Jr. has won the 2014 Daytona 500 yesterday, at the end of a race that brought the longest rain delay in the event’s history - six hours and 22 minutes.
Dale Earnhardt Jr. 1 photo
The Hendrick Motorsports driver dominated the final third of the race and took the checkered flag ahead of Denny Hamlin and teammate Jeff Gordon. Earnhardt Jr. won the Daytona 500 for the second time and ended a 55-race losing streak.

"Winning this race is the greatest feeling that you could feel in this sport besides accepting the trophy for the championship," said Earnhardt at the end of the race. "I didn't know if I'd ever get the chance to feel it again and it feels just as good."

2014 Daytona 500 top 10:

1. Dale Earnhardt Jr. (Hendrick Motorsports/Chevrolet)
2. Denny Hamlin (Joe Gibbs Racing/Toyota)
3. Brad Keselowski (Team Penske/Ford)
4. Jeff Gordon (Hendrick Motorsports/Chevrolet)
5. Jimmie Johnson (Hendrick Motorsports/Chevrolet)
6. Matt Kenseth (Joe Gibbs Racing/Toyota)
7. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (Roush Fenway Racing/Ford)
8. Greg Biffle (Roush Fenway Racing/Ford)
9. Austin Dillon (Richard Childress Racing/Chevrolet)
10. Casey Mears (Germain RacingChevrolet)

Scroll below to watch the final lap of the race.


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories