Complete Budweiser Shootout List Announced

It's not the season opener, but is sure is important. The Budweiser Shootout at Daytona have announced the complete list of drivers who will try to make a statement ahead of the new Sprint Cup season by winning the Speedweek opener. Although the selection criteria for this year's Shootout has changed the composition of the field, this will be the first proper test for any of the teams ahead of their new Cup campaign.

As NASCAR officials have banned testing on all circuits ahead of the 2009 season, this weekend's showdown will give all teams a short estimate on how they stand ahead of the new season.

All manufacturers will be represented at the Shootout by at least 6 drivers, as stated by the new regulations. As compared to the seasons before, when the Shootout list contained only the winner of pole positions throughout the previous year, this year's event will give all manufacturers the chance to field their Top 6 cars from last year, according to the owner standings.

This led to several drivers that won pole positions last year to be left out of the list, while some teams will be represented by 3 or more drivers this year. Hendrick Motorsports, Richard Childress Racing, Joe Gibbs Racing Richard Petty Motorsports will each have 3 drivers representing them in the Shootout.

Here is the complete Shootout list for this weekend's event:

00 David Reutimann (Toyota)
2   Kurt Busch (Dodge)
6   David Ragan (Ford)
7   Robby Gordon (Dodge)
07 Casey Mears (Chevrolet)
9   Kasey Kahne (Dodge)
11 Denny Hamlin (Toyota)
12 David Stremme (Dodge)
14 Tony Stewart (Chevrolet)
16 Greg Biffle (Ford)
17 Matt Kenseth (Ford)
18 Kyle Busch (Toyota)
19 Elliott Sadler ( Dodge)
20 Joey Logano (Toyota)
24 Jeff Gordon (Chevrolet)
26 Jamie McMurray (Ford)
29 Kevin Harvick (Chevrolet)
31 Jeff Burton (Chevrolet)
43 Reed Sorenson (Dodge)
44 A.J. Allmendinger (Dodge)
48 Jimmie Johnson (Chevrolet)
55 Michael Waltrip (Toyota)
82 Scott Speed ( Toyota)
83 Brian Vickers (Toyota)
88 Dale Earnhardt Jr (Chevrolet)
96 Bobby Labonte (Ford)
98 Paul Menard (Ford)
99 Carl Edwards (Ford)
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories