Clark Collins Enters the 2010 AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame

The Class of 2010 of the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame announced its third member recently, namely BlueRibbon Coalition (BRC) founder Clark Collins. Collins created the BRC, a national non-profit organization dedicated to protecting responsible recreational access to public lands and waters, in 1987. He retired in 2004.

Today, Collins continues to serve the off-road recreation community in Idaho as president of the Idaho State ATV Association.

"Clark Collins represents an area that is so vitally important to all riders -- motorcyclists' rights -- and he is a fitting inductee into the Hall of Fame," said Jack Penton, AMA director of operations and a Hall of Famer himself. "Collins' advocacy work is the reason why so many trails remain open today, and why motorcyclists across the country are better organized to protect the future of motorcycling."

Collins joins previously announced members of the AMA Hall of Fame Class of 2010: championship team owner Mitch Payton and AMA 250cc Roadrace Champion David Emde. More inductees will be announced soon.

"I was really excited last year for Mona Ehnes being inducted as a rights representative, and I'm amazed to be inducted," Collins said. "Looking at all the people in the Hall of Fame, I feel really honored to be on that list. A lot of the Hall of Famers got in for their skill in going fast on motorcycles, and I'm excited to see that folks like Mona and me, who have been involved in the advocacy role, get recognized as well. We're not used to getting trophies, and we don't get to stand up and be recognized for going fast, so this is really great."

The Class of 2010 will officially be inducted into the AMA Motorcycle Hall of Fame on November 19 in Las Vegas.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories