Buemi Completes Jerez Domination

Another day, another great performance for Swiss driver Sebastien Buemi at the Jerez circuit. The Toro Rosso wannabe topped the third and final day of testing at the Spanish track, recording a time of 1:17.258. The GP2 driver outpaced his Toro Rosso teammate for the 3rd day running – this time it was Takuma Sato – and made a strong argument as to where the Scuderia should be looking at when naming their 2009 lineup.

Being the only ones who actually raced for something besides testing the 2008 machineries – as they both are looking to secure a spot in next year's F1 lineup – the Toro Rosso duo topped the timing sheets ahead of the McLaren, Ferrari, Renault and BMW drivers. The manufacturers presented themselves at the Jerez meeting focusing on testing their KERS units or new aerodynamic configurations.

The McLaren drivers used the 3rd day of testing to further test their KERS technology on track, while also their new front nose & wing. The MP4-23A showed some important improvement as compared to the previous day, as Kova set the 3rd fastest time of the day – more than a second and a half quickest than on Wednesday – with the new aerodynamic package.

Both the Ferraris were on track yesterday, with Felipe Massa completing the entire session alongside teammate Kimi Raikkonen. The Fin set the 4th quickest time of the day, while followed by Massa in 5th place.

Two-time world champion Fernando Alonso also improved his track time by more than half-a-second as compared to the 2nd test session on Wednesday, admitting he is in full process of getting to understand the 2009 slick Bridgestone tires. Just like Ferrari, Renault are planning to test their 2009-spec car in January next year.

BMW's Robert Kubica and Christian Klien finished the day on the bottom of the timing sheets, focusing on testing their KERS unit and their 2009 aerodynamic package. Here are the complete results of the 3rd day of testing at Jerez:

1. Sebastien Buemi              Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:17.258
2. Takuma Sato                    Toro Rosso-Ferrari     1:17.520
3. Heikki Kovalainen             McLaren-Mercedes    1:18.049
4. Kimi Raikkonen                 Ferrari                        1:18.782
5. Felipe Massa                     Ferrari                        1:19.050
6. Fernando Alonso               Renault                      1:19.319
7. Nico Rosberg                     Williams-Toyota         1:19.388
8. Pedro de la Rosa               McLaren-Mercedes    1:19.499
9. Robert Kubica                    BMW-Sauber             1:19.559
10. Christian Klien                 BMW-Sauber              1:19.738
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories