BMW Launches Its Own Privateer Championship, the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy

Last year BMW Motorrad pulled out of all the motorsport competitions it was a part of as a factory, and a lot of people asked why. The most recent announcement made by the Bavarian manufacturer casts a new light on the future of the brand and the very world of motorsport: BMW is launching its own road racing championship, the BMW Motorrad Race Trophy.
2014 BMW HP4 1 photo
Photo: BMW
The BMW Motorrad Race Trophy is basically a new racing championship created for privateer teams belonging to BMW customers, and entries are free. The only restriction applying is that all teams must field BMW S100RR or BMW HP4 machines. The BMW Motorrad Race Trophy will comprise a whopping number of 143 races in 15 racing series, across 6 continents and in 19 countries.

This new trophy will see riders competing on 63 tracks across 95 race meetings, and offering BMW customers all over the world a shot at glory no matter where they might be based. A complex scoring formula was developed to calculate the points earned by the teams and riders. At the end of the year, the 15 best riders will be rewarded a trophy and prize money. Currently, the total amount of money prizes stands at €100,000 ($138,000), but as the series develops and sponsors are most likely to be attracted in this, we might get to see things growing.

BMW appointed Berthold Hauser as the BMW Motorrad Motorsport Technical Director and Udo Mark as BMW Motorrad Motorsport Marketing Director, both with extensive experience in racing and having occupied key positions inside BMW.

2014 BMW Motorrad Race Trophy championships and events:

1. FIM Superbike World Championship (WSBK)
2. FIM Superstock 1000 Cup (WSTK)
3. FIM Endurance World Championship (EWC)
4. FIM Spanish Superbike Championship (CEV)
5. FIM Sidecar World Championship (SWC)
6. Brazilian Superbike Championship (BRSBK)
7. British Superbike Championship (BSB)
8. Canadian Superbike Championship (CSBK)
9. French Superbike Championship (FSBK)
10. International German Superbike Championship (IDM)
11. Italian Superbike Championship (CIV)
12. Japanese Road Race Championship (MFJ)
13. South African Motorcycle Championship (SAM)
14. Isle of Man Tourist Trophy (TT)
15. Macau Grand Prix (MGP).
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram Twitter

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories