BMW DTM Drivers Marco Wittmann and Augusto Farfus to Race Z4 GT3 in Macau

In November, two BMW DTM drivers out of which one will be crowned champion by then, will be racing two BMW Z4 GT3 cars in Macau, a legendary track by all accounts. The cars will be offered by the AAI Rstrada team that has been participating in the Asian Le Mans Series in 2014 using BMW vehicles.
Marco Wittmann and Augusto Farfus 1 photo
Photo: Image edited by autoevolution
The two will be doing so between November 13th to 16th and will be tearing through the heart of Macau as part of the Macau GT Cup. “I am excited to be returning to Macau after a few years away, and to be able to drive there in a GT3 car,” said Wittmann.

“In 2011, I won the qualifying race in a Formula 3 car, set the fastest race lap and finished third to claim a spot on the podium in the main race in Macau. As far as I am concerned, it is not only the best street circuit in the world, but also one of the most exciting racetracks around. I can hardly wait to get back out on this awesome circuit with the BMW Z4 GT3,” Marco added.

Augusto, on the other hand, used to race in Macau on the regular as the track used to be part of the calendar of the FIA World Touring Car Championship. Furthermore, traditionally the last race of the WTCC used to be held here.

His record includes two wins on the “Guia Circuit”, his most recent one being at the wheel of a BMW 320si in the WTCC in 2009. It’s easy to see why Augusto also sees this as a great opportunity.

“This circuit was a huge challenge for us drivers in a WTCC car. It will be a real adventure to race there in the considerably more powerful BMW Z4 GT3. The atmosphere in Macau and, of course, the track itself have something magical about them, which you do not find anywhere else in the world. I can hardly wait to be back in Macau,” Farfus said about the upcoming event.

Over the years, BMW celebrated various successes on this track, including in 2005, 2006 and 2007 when Andy Priaulx was crowned WTCC champion over there. What’s more, the Germans have ‘only’ five wins on the track between 2005 and 2009.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories