2017-2018 Formula E Champion Title Goes to Audi

Audi drivers land manufacturer Formula E title 13 photos
Photo: Formula E
Formula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race carsFormula E race cars
Following a 12-race season, the Formula E championship drew to a close this weekend on the streets of New York. And with this final race came confirmation of the best driver and manufacturer in the series.
The New York event came close to becoming the first ever wet race in the championship, as heavy clouds gathered over the city.

Jean-Eric Vergne from the TECHEETAH team was crowned best driver in Formula E, after winning the New York race which he started from the third position. Vergne’s win was aided by a host of penalties handed to some of his rivals on account of various violations.

Both of the Audis in the series, driven by Lucas Di Grassi and Daniel Abt, finished the race in second and third position, respectively, officially landing the German manufacturer the title of teams' champion.

Just as in F1, there are two titles up for grabs in Formula E: driver and team. The champions are crowned at the end of the championship, depending on the number of points gained during the races.

For the drivers, the season total is made of the accumulation of points for the entire campaign. Of the 20 drivers racing for the win, only half are rewarded for their efforts after each race.

The points system used in the series is FIA-sanctioned and awards points after each race to the top 10 finishers: 25 points for 1st place, 18 for the second, 15 for the third, all the way to only 1 point going to the last of the pack.

Aside for the points for the race itself, drivers are also rewarded 3 points for securing a pole position (called in Formula E Julius Baer Pole Position) or one point for the driver achieving the fastest lap. To gain this extra points, drivers must finish the race in the top ten.

For the constructor title, the champion is decided after adding the points gained by both drivers of each team.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
About the author: Daniel Patrascu
Daniel Patrascu profile photo

Daniel loves writing (or so he claims), and he uses this skill to offer readers a "behind the scenes" look at the automotive industry. He also enjoys talking about space exploration and robots, because in his view the only way forward for humanity is away from this planet, in metal bodies.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories