2016 Dakar Rally Is Now Over. Stephane Peterhansel Lives Up to His "Mister Dakar" Name

Peugeot 2008 DKR 1 photo
Photo: Dakar Rally
The 2016 edition of the Dakar Rally is now over, as 84 motorcycles, 23 quads, 67 cars and 44 trucks managed to cross the finish line. Stephane Peterhansel expanded his winning streak with a victory in the car category, Toby Price won the motorcycle class, the two Petronelli Bros. won the quad race and Gerard de Rooy claimed his second Dakar win in the truck category.
The 38th edition of the Dakar Rally marks Peugeot team’s leader Stephane Peterhansel’s 12th win. The rally hasn’t lacked surprises, as halfway throughout the race, while in the lead, Sebastien Loeb struggled with the dunes, and Carlos Sainz pushed his car too hard for it to survive the journey to Rosario. Everything culminated in the stage to La Roja, where Mister Dakar finished an hour ahead of the competition.

Nasser Al-Attiyah, the 2015 Dakar Rally winner, had a slow start and then got stronger and more aggressive in the second week when he won two stages and a silver medal. At the end of the rally, he joined Peterhansel on the podium, in the second spot.

Toyota driver Giniel de Villiers, who finished third, claimed his fifth podium spot in thirteen starts.

In the motorcycle category, Toby Price wrote history by managing to win the most prestigious rally raid in the world on his second participation. The KTM rider becomes the first Australian to win the Dakar in all divisions. Price pushed his KTM, which won its fifteenth Dakar in a row, to the limit and seized the lead just after the rest day.

Disaster struck for Joan Barreda and Paulo Goncalves, both pretenders to the crown, as they failed to reach the finish due to mechanical failures. Joining Price on the final podium were the Slovak Stefan Svitko and Chilean Pablo Quintanilla.

The Petronelli Bros. dominated the quads category and made a victorious comeback to the Dakar. After some very tough days, the younger brother, Marcos, outgunned Alejandro and overtook him both in the general classification and in the number of overall wins.

Iveco driver Gerard de Rooy moved into the lead in stage 8 and eventually won the truck category. It is his second win, after the one he took in 2012. Claiming second place was Man’s Hans Stacey, while Iveco’s Federico Villagra finished third.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram
Press Release

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories