2015 Toyota Camry Gets 5-Star NHTSA Rating

The NHTSA is done testing the 2015 Toyota Camry and guess what? It got the same five-star safety rating as with the previous model. A usual thing with modern cars now, but if you look into the details, it gets more interesting.
2015 Toyota Camry crash test 3 photos
Photo: screenshot from Youtube
2015 Camry vs 2014 Camry crash test2015 Toyota Camry side impact
OK, so the new Camry is basically a mid-cycle facelift, but the engineers said you can take it as a whole new model because they stripped it out to the bare structure and started from that, coming with some 2,000 new parts.

Well, even with those new parts and even some new tech, the 2015 Camry behaves the same as the 2014 model when it comes to safety during a crash. It gets a four-star rating in frontal collisions, five for the side and four again for the rollover test. Exactly the same as the outgoing model.

Bits and bobs

The 2015 Camry comes with some extra safety features, like the standard rearview camera, optional forward collision warning and lane departure warning. But that won’t help you in the moment of impact, where all your safety relies on the actual structure, airbags and seatbelts.

For that matter, the new Camry comes with 10 standard airbags, including driver and front passenger Advanced Airbag System, seat-mounted side airbags, knee airbags, rear seat-mounted side airbags as well as curtain airbags. Then comes the Whiplash-Injury-Lessening (WIL) seats offered as standard too, as well as 3-point seatbelts for all seats with Emergency Locking Retractors.

If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram Twitter

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories