2014 MotoGP Champion Marc Marquez Wins Unique Frozen Red BMW M4

BMW M4 Frozen Red Metallic 4 photos
Photo: BMW
Marc Marquez and his Frozen Red Metallic BMW M4Marc Marquez and his Frozen Red Metallic BMW M4Marc Marquez and his Frozen Red Metallic BMW M4
Just as promised at the beginning of this year’s MotoGP season, BMW delivered a unique M4 to the one racer that was fastest in all qualifying rounds: Marc Marquez. The young Spaniard took delivery of his prize Saturday, with a big smile on his face, in Valencia, Spain.
He was basically unbeatable in qualifying this year just like he was last year, allowing his to claim another one of BMW’s prizes. The 21-year-old was delighted to get his Individual M4 dressed in Frozen Red Metallic, a color that is not available for customers at the moment but will be starting with 2015.

“Knowing the prize is there at the end of the year gives you special motivation when going for pole on Saturday. This year even more so, because I really like this BMW M4 Coupé. I am happy to receive this car and, of course, I will enjoy it,” said Marquez.

His car is wearing a special composition thought out by the guys from BMW. Inside, Individual fine-grain Merino Opal White leather awaits as well as Individual fine-wood Ash Grain White trims all around the cabin.

As far as the specs go, his M4 is featuring the DCT 7-speed gearbox that is the faster version compared to the manual 6-speed. Furthermore, the M Carbon Ceramic brakes were also added to the mix, a €9,000 optional feature.

“Congratulations to Marc Marquez on winning the BMW M Award again. Last year he came through as a rookie to defeat his more experienced opponents. In 2014 he raised the bar again with 13 pole positions. It was breath-taking to see how Marc went from one success to the next this year,” said Thomas Schemera, Director of Sales and Marketing BMW M GmbH.

How did he do it?

The Spaniard managed to secure a pole position for the first six consecutive races of the World Championship in MotoGP. That wasn’t it though, as he continued his strong display to add up to a grand total of 13 pole positions throughout the season, gathering 398 points to his name by the end.

The BMW M Award has become a tradition since being introduced back in 2003. In order to win it, riders must be fastest in qualifying getting points based on their position. The number one spot gets you 25 points, second place on the grid 20 while starting from third place you get 16, 15 and so on down to one point for 15th place.

Amongst the previous winners of the coveted award are Valentino Rossi and Casey Stoner that are also the record holders for most such titles under their belt, with three each.

Marquez, on the other hand, is the youngest man to win it back in 2013 when he was just 20 years old. Now, he won his second title and can start hoping to break the record by the time he retires from the sport.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories