2014 Audi A6 and S6: 5 Stars in the NHTSA New Car Assessment Program

Audi’s A6 and S6 can now pride themselves with having received the top five-star safety rating in the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) New Car Assessment Program (NCAP).
Audi A6 TDI 1 photo
Photo: Audi
In translation, the A6, together with its warm performance counterpart, earned the highest available safety rating for the frontal, side and rollover tests. Audi can also be proud of the fact that their pair are the only German mid-sized luxury sedans to have reached the five-star status.

“When Audi engineers set out to make the A6 and S6 models unsurpassed in their class they made safety one of their first priorities,” said Scott Keogh, President, Audi of America. “The 5-star rating affirms that commitment to our customers and vehicle safety.”

As for the safety technology that stands behind these results, we’ll go through some of the most advanced features present of these cars. For instance, the list of standard equipment includes front, side, head curtain and knee airbags.

And if the car senses an incoming impact, its hydraulic brake assist applies the maximum braking pressure in an attempt to minimize the consequences of the crash. As for the list of optional safety features, one of the most advanced pieces is the Head Up Display, allowing the driver to keep his or her eyes on the road.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram X (Twitter)
About the author: Andrei Tutu
Andrei Tutu profile photo

In his quest to bring you the most impressive automotive creations, Andrei relies on learning as a superpower. There's quite a bit of room in the garage that is this aficionado's heart, so factory-condition classics and widebody contraptions with turbos poking through the hood can peacefully coexist.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories