2013 World Car Of The Year Top Finalists Announced

The World Car of The Year Awards is preparing to announce its winners later this month, with the judges reducing the finalist lists to just three or four vehicles for all categories.
2013 Mercedes-Benz A-Class 1 photo
Photo: Mercedes-Benz
Therefore, the World Car of the Year winner will be decided between the Mercedes-Benz A-Class, Porsche Boxster/Cayman, Scion FR-S/Subaru BRZ/Toyota GT 86 and Volkswagen Golf, the latter being crowned European Car of the Year just last month.

In the 2013 World Performance Car category, the final battle will face the Porsche Cayman/Boxster, Scion FR-S/Subaru BRZ/Toyota GT 86, and the Ferrari F12 Berlinetta, while the World Green Car Award is contested by the Renault Zoe, Tesla Model S and Volvo V6 Plug-In Hybrid.

Things look more than interesting in the World Car Design of the Year tier as well, where the judges will have to choose between the Jaguar F-Type, Aston Martin Vanquish and the Mazda 6.

The winners will be voted by a committee of 66 journalists from 23 countries, with the official awards to take place at the 2013 New York Auto Show.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

 Download: Top Finalists Announced in All World Car Awards Categories (PDF)

About the author: Ciprian Florea
Ciprian Florea profile photo

Ask Ciprian about cars and he'll reveal an obsession with classics and an annoyance with modern design cues. Read his articles and you'll understand why his ideal SUV is the 1969 Chevrolet K5 Blazer.
Full profile


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories