2013 Subaru Legacy & Outback Get IIHS Top Safety Pick Plus

While all animals are created equal, some are created more equal than others. And as all 2013 model year Subarus have earned the Top Safety Pick award from the IIHS, a couple have managed to score the new top marque.
2013 Subaru Legacy 1 photo
Both the 2013 Subaru Legacy and the 2013 Outback got the new Top Safety Pick Plus (TSP+) award. To get this, a car must get the “good” score in at least 4 of 5 IIHS evaluations, with no less than acceptable in any test.

The IIHS ranks in terms of Good, Acceptable, Marginal and Poor, with 'good' as the top rating. The IIHS has changed its system starting with models sold in November 2012. They now have to be subjected to the more rigorous small overlap test, where only a small section of the front end of the car takes the brunt of the crash.

"The strong ratings of our products in IIHS testing supports Subaru’s belief in safety" said Thomas J. Doll, executive vice president and COO, Subaru of America, Inc. "Having 100% of our models listed as IIHS Top Safety Picks and now the Legacy and Outback models tested to TSP+ status demonstrates that."

"For four consecutive years, Subaru is the only automotive manufacturer with the distinction of earning IIHS TOP SAFETY PICK awards for every model it builds," said Institute president Adrian Lund. "Subaru deserves praise for making safety a top priority."

Video thumbnail


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories