2013 IOM TT: Michael Rutter and MotoCzysz Win the Third TT Zero Race in a Row

Michael Rutter's thir SES TT Zero in a row 1 photo
Photo: IOM TT
Dramatic victory at the Mountain Course in the SES TT Zero race, as Michael Rutter stole the first place from John McGuinness by just 1.672 seconds.
Even though McPint led by almost 9 seconds at Glen Helen, Rutter did not lose focus and started to cover the gap, halving it by Ballaugh and getting even closer at the Bungalow. It looks like Rutter's MotoCzysz E1pc had what it needed for an extra push and he managed to squeeze in the first position in the end.

And just as a further proof that these electric bikes get better and better by the year, Rutter managed to lap the TT around 5 mph (8 km/h) faster than he did last year, recording an average lap speed of 109.675 mph (176.467 km/h). McGuinness' best lap speed on his Mugen Shinden Ni was 109.527 mph (176.228 km/h), really close to the Czysz, but just not enough.

Rob Barber came in the third place on his Ohi State University machine, Rutter's American team mate Mark Miller was the 4th fastest rider, and with Ian Lougher completing the top five on the Komatti-Mirai bike Yoshinari Matsushita should have ridden if it wasn't for his tragic death in a practice run at Ballacrye.
If you liked the article, please follow us:  Google News icon Google News Youtube Instagram

Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories