2011 European Car of the Year Nominees Announced

The complete list of candidates for the 2011 edition of the European Car of the Year competition has been announced, with 41 models aiming for the most important automotive distinction of the continent.

The vehicles will enter an elimination round on November 2 2010, which will only leave seven cars in the competition. The second voting session, which will reveal the winner, is scheduled to take place on November 29, 2010.

The judge panel for the 2011 edition is comprised of 59 automotive journalists coming from 23 European countries. These were selected according to the size and automotive industry role of their country. The countries that take the top spots on the list are France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the UK (each has six members in the jury). The journalist are chosen depending on their individual value, regardless of the reputation of the publication they work for.

Here is the complete list of cars that are competing for the 2011 European Car of the Year title:

Alfa Romeo Giulietta
Audi A1
Audi A7
Audi A8
BMW 5 Series
Chevrolet Spark
Citroen C3/DS3
Citroen C4
Dacia Duster
Fiat Doblo
Ford C-Max / Grand C-Max
Honda CR-Z
Hyundai ix20
Hyundai ix35
Jaguar XJ
Jeep Grand Cherokee
Kia Sportage
Kia Venga
Lexus CT200h
Mercedes-Benz CLS
Mini Countryman
Mitsubishi ASX
Mitsubishi i-MiEV/ Peugeot iOn/ Citroen C-Zero
Nissan Juke
Nissan Leaf
Nissan Micra
Opel Meriva
Peugeot RCZ
Porsche Cayenne
Renault Fluence
Renault Latitude
Renault Wind
Saab 9-5
Suzuki Kizashi
Suzuki Swift
Volkswagen Passat
Volkswagen Touareg
Volkswagen Sharan/ SEAT Alhambra
Volvo S60/V60

What car would you choose?


Would you like AUTOEVOLUTION to send you notifications?

You will only receive our top stories